Thread: College Degree

Forum Member

Question College Degree

How many of you have a college degree? If you don't do you wish you had one? Whats a good major if you plan on becoming a firefighter?

MembersZone Subscriber

I have one. Depending on what college you go to and what degree's then provide it can vary. A lot of people say that a Fire Science or anything related to fire would be a good one. Personally I think that if you get a degree in anything it shows that you have committed to something and are willing to commit to a job. In other words it shows that you didn't give up. I got my degree in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political science. Neither have anything to do with the fire service.

Forum Member

Education will never hurt you.

But if you really want to get a firefighter job consider these points:

Is there a requirement for an advanced degree to get a firefighter job?

Answer: Few if any. A fraction of departments list an advanced degree as desirable but not required.

Where are 80% of the job offerings?

Answer: Fire/medics

There are up to 800 candidates chasing each firefighter job. How many are chasing a fire/medic job?

Answer: 12-20. Which odds do you like better?

Ask yourself who is getting the badges? The vast majority of candidates we see get hired do not have advanced degrees. They're more in the line of EMT, FF1 academy, working on or have an AA or AS degree or medics. Some have no fire education or experience. Their biggest asset was they leaned how to take an interview.