Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Forum Member

Default Could I get some info on where to start on the career path to becomming a firefighter

Hello everyone. I would first like to preface by apologizing if this is the wrong forum, or if these questions get asked often. I have done some searching and still have questions I would like to get answered.

I am 19, live in Massachusetts, and did a Fire Explorers program for 3 of my four years of high school (Soph - Senior year). While attending this program, and after it's completion, I always wanted to pursue a career in the FD, however I sort of put it on the back burner until a month or so ago. I am a freshman in college, studying accounting, and it just doesn't interest me. School work is not something I am motivated to work on (and I don't see office work being any better). When I attended my Explorer's program (Once every two weeks), I always looked forward to it and to learning new things. Whether it was switching out SCBA's to taking blood pressure, to learning the pump system, to the EMT side of things, I always loved being embraced in that environment and loved training hands on with that.
    As I said, recently I have once again given serious thoughts to joining a fire department, and after talking to many people, I am unsure of how to get started on this path. Some people have said the military is the only way, others tell me to take a fire science class, others tell me to take a four year course and receive a degree in fire science. After much research and snooping, I have finally come across this site and decided to ask the questions, hoping to get them answered, and allow me to give serious considerations to the job, and get started on the path to becoming a fire fighter.