Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default 2 Weeks before CPAT

Hey all

- Well Ive got 2 weeks before my CPAT test
    - Ive been training for about 2 months now - I started out 3 times a week

The first 3 weeks consisted of cardio and high weight low rep lifting
    After about 3 weeks of that - I moved up to 5 times a week doing pretty much the same workout

For the past 3 weeks now Ive been doing twice a day (minus the weekends) - Ive been doing heavy cardio, and have switched to low weight high rep (trying to further increase my muscle endurance)

Ive been doing 20 minute sets at between 60-80 steps a minute on the step mill BUT my gym will not allow me to wear a weight vest or to add weight to myself while using their step mill - So Ive been doing one legged squats with 80 pounds to helps build my leg muscles for that part of the test

I feel that I've trained pretty well, but of course you always feel like you could have given alittle more

So with 2 weeks to go - would you guys recommend anything else ?

Also - Side note - I have a practice timed test tomorrow - This should also give me a decent gauge on how well I will perform

Forum Member

Stair stepper weighted.
    Do the stair stepper for 6 minutes with 70 lbs on than do a few wind sprints.
    If you can do even 2 sets of 20 yard sprints after that you'll do fine.
    I'd say the most important thing is to know the course, I watched a bunch of people fail because they had no idea what they were doing, don't be one of those guys.

MembersZone Subscriber

Default cpat events

Hey there...
    read here, http://www.fireagility.com/cpat_events.php
    it might give you some insight into your events if you have not taken it before. I am concerend for you because you have not trained with the weight vest. I think the 1 legged squats were a great idea... but I would have done them along WITH weight vest training.