Default When should I start training

I have two passions in life. Aviation and ems/rescue work (thanks Civil Air Patrol). While I plan on making a career out of flying, volunteer firefighting is something I want to do on the side. The only problem is I donít know when to start training. I donít think I can wait long because when I begin my flying career, with such a random schedule of days on and off that change monthly, I wonít be able to attend classes to get my state certifications. If I go to an academy now, there is a good chance I wonít be able to get on with a department after I graduate due to the fact that I am a full-time undergraduate student also in flight training with little time available and there might not be a vollie department where I end up going to school (Iím in the middle of transferring universities and still donít know where Iíll end up). Iím worried about not getting on with a department quick and gaining the experience Iíll need to retain my knowledge. As you can see Iím a newbie and still donít completely grasp all of the routes I can take for my training so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Forum Member

I am kind of in your same shoes... But not as bad. I am currently 18yrs old and still in high school. I am also in EMT classes that are held every monday and wednesday nights from 6-10. And on top of that I am a vol. firefighter. We have a business meeting the first tuesday of every month... And then the next two tuesdays we have training nights. I am doing my state training and we are doing that on Saturdays from 8-1. So i'd say just find out what days that the station has everything going on and you might be able to work it out.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Zwibby View Post