Question Regarding AF reserve FF ...

So, I have been thinking about Firefighting as a career since I was a junior in 2002. However, I moved out on my own after I graduated and have ever since been trying to make it on my own. You know the routine; working to live. As it is, I haven't really had a good enough paying job to have my own place, pay the bills, and have enough time to chase my dreams. I guess you can say I'm waiting on a miracle, and I'm agnostic. Sounds like a "catch 22", no?

Anyhow, to get to the point, I have definently done my fair share of research on the career, and know for the most part what is expected of me and what I need to take care of. However, I have never really considered the military aspect of it until tonight. From what I have been reading, near everyone agrees that the Air Force is the way to go for military Firefighting. So my question is, would I still be able to get the same benefits and experience out of the reserves versus a 4 year contract? I am not sure if I want to sign away 4 years of my life to something I am not to sure I want to do (military, that is).

Any feedback is more than welcome, and very much appreciated. Basically, I want to know if joining the reserves would be worth it, and if so, is it paid training as well?

Thank you for taking the time to read this,

Matt Dimock - Ventura, CA

MembersZone Subscriber