View Poll Results: What Contractor has the best Contract?

Voters
12. You may not vote on this poll
  • WSI

5 41.67%
  • CSA

2 16.67%
  • KBR

2 16.67%
  • OTHER

3 25.00%
Multiple Choice Poll.
    Forum Member

Lightbulb Suggestions for Contract Firefighting

I am extremely interested in becoming a contract firefighter and would like a little insight from everyone's perspective. I understand these questions may have been previously asked in one form or another, but I am still left with questions. When I apply for a contract position, I will have the following:
    FFI and FFII
    Hazardous Materials Ops and Awareness
    EMT-Basic
    3+ years firefighting experience

1) I am currently ARFF trained, but that will expire soon, but with a simple 1 day 400 dollar class I can be re-certified, it is worth it and will it inevitably result in a higher paying contract?

2) What is the best contract(s)? I am a 22-year-old college graduate that is willing for adventure and am willing to go thru the hoops and not run my mouth. I want to make as much cash as possible, and am willing to go anywhere. What contract(s) does everyone suggest?

3) While in country do you have the opportunity to move thru the ranks and step into larger contract cash?

4) If after you complete a year of your contract, is there a substantial increase in pay for the second year?

5) Are all of the contract available with fire departments based on a US base?

Once again thank you for your time.

Thanks for your time and stay safe.

Alex Everman
    alexeverman@hotmail.com
    Last edited by Aeverman; 04-18-2007 at 07:57 PM. Reason: typo

MembersZone Subscriber

Aeverman,
    I will try to answer your questions as best as I can. I have only worked with CSA, so whatever answers I post here, has come with the experience of working for CSA.

1. Most companies recommend that ff's are to be ARFF certified to get hired, so you will not get any higher pay because you have that cert.