MembersZone Subscriber

Default question For California Chief Officers

RFDExployer has sparked my interest because it sounds he was just like me 20 years ago. I joined the Air Force to become a fire fighter in the hopes I could travel the world and return to California to become a fire fighter. I chose to stay in and make it a career, I traveled the world and then some. Now I have 20 years as a Air Force Fire Fighter and have numerous advanced certs. Fire Officer III, Inspector III etc.... I retire this summer and have filled out many CA city job applications for fire inspectors, battalion chief and so on. 20 plus applications and only two asked me if I was a veteran. Frankly I am beginning to feel that my military service means nothing in California as obviously my IFSAC and DOD certs neither do.
    Is it just the same old certification problem known nation wide? A New York Fire Fighter is not certified in Florida and a Florida Fire Fighter is not Certified in California and on and on and on. Is it true California fire fighters are also feeling less marketable because also?
    Any Chief Officers out there in California want to give me some advise?

MembersZone Subscriber

I work for a major So. Cal fire department as a BC. My department does not take laterals so I am not an expert on the subject. I can tell you, however, that my California certifications were not recognized by the military.

There are a couple of So. Cal fire departments that are open for lateral BC filing. Shoot me an email and I would be happy to share the info with you.
    Paul Lepore
    Paul.lepore@cox.net

Forum Member

Default Oral Board Skills

Iím not a chief. I did act as a BC for several years.

I donít believe itís all about the certs, experience, military or where ever life has led you. I really believe that where you make the cut or not has everything to do with if you learned how to take a firefighter oral board interview that is like no other.