Thread: Just Testing

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Just Testing

I just received my two notifications about taking the written exam in Knoxville and Nashville, TN. I have no intention of working there because I am still a college student and have one more year, but am trying to gain experience with test taking. Do I tell them I only want to take the written test? What if they did not tell me that I am taking the physical test on the same day and I am totally not prepared? How do I let them know? Help!

Forum Member

Yeah, just take the test. What do you have to lose, except a few hours of your time? You might change your mind as you get more involved, too, so keep your options open. They certainly won't mind if you drop out, since they're probably getting a few thousand applicants anyway. Just do it. You'll learn, and there's less pressure.
    If you're really interested, though, just start looking at medic school. And if you aren't an EMT, yet, then get that. Don't even start until you've got that.

MembersZone Subscriber

Thanks! I will take the tests, and hopefully do well on them. I am going to graduate soon and when I do I am going to apply for jobs wherever for their trainee programs and hopefully get on there and if not then take other approaches to becoming a full time firefighter. im pumped though and getting started is sooooo much fun! Thanks for the advice, anything more would be awesome!

Forum Member

As stated you can take the tests...doesn't mean you will get the job if you pass them. It can also take a long time from when the written test is until you get the call for the job. There are many steps in between, so maybe if you did pass everything, you could graduate and still be in contention for a job. You can always turn the offer down too, if called.

Forum Member