Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Decontamination question

Really basic question here- bear with me. I'm a chemist with substantial HAZ-MAT experience, along with training in human physiology, toxicology, and s forth. I have yet to receive a good answer to this question; hopefully someone here will know.

For years (going back to at least 1989, when I started), we've been told to use cold water for decontamination. This is reportedly to reduce absorption from skin pores opening with hot water, increasing surface area and retention of chemicals on the skin.

My question is this: Is there any basis in fact to this assertion? Has it ever been tested? Are there any papers that corroborate this statement? Or is it simply something that makes sense, but may or may not work in the real world but because of being repeated often enough is now gospel?

I figure it probably has some basis in fact, and that it probably hails from the nuclear realm, where it is much easier to determine levels of contamination and effectiveness of decontamination using relatively inexpensive handheld devices. But I'd be interested in understanding how cold water is measurably better than tepid, warm, or hot for decontamination purposes. One assumes there are other physiological considerations, i.e.: level of stress and exertion on the part of the individual being decontaminated, where the pores may be open and using cold water will cause them to shut, making decontamination more difficult.

Forum Member