MembersZone Subscriber

Default Am I too old to get on LA City or LA County FD?

First of all, sorry about the test post there...I've been having some issues. Anyway, settle in, I've got a story.

I'm 29 years old. I'm married, with a son on the way. I've been working in the television news business since 1995...basically right out of high school. I put myself through college working part time, spent a few years living and working in Boston after college and then moved to Los Angeles in 2002 to "make it" in the tv biz out here. Long story short, I've "made it", but with a catch. I have a great job, I make good money for what amounts to very little work, and I enjoy the respect and admiration of my peers and superiors.

Problem is, I freaking hate it. I'm not doing anything important. I work on shows that are forgotten 30 seconds after the viewer turns off the TV. In short, though I'm successful at my job, it makes me feel cheap.

So why firefighting? Well, it's in my family's blood. Grandfather, stepfather, 2 uncles and a few cousins as well. I grew up in fire stations, and up until I was about 17, I was sure I wanted to be a firefighter. I remember being 8 or 9 years old, sitting in my Grandpa's house, reading Firehouse magazine and listening on his scanner to my uncles working a fire. I couldn't wait for that to be me.