MembersZone Subscriber

Default IFSAC and Pro Board Frustration

I have been a paid on call firefighter for 3 yrs. Before that I was US Air Force(4 yrs) I have been trying to get a job with the Department of Navy (Federal Firefighter) I have some posts and information traded on the Military Forum. However this post relates to IFSAC and Pro Board accreditations. I am FF II, Hazmat Ops, NREMT-B, and Tech Rescue certified with the State of Illinois. However Illinois is not IFSAC or Pro Board accredited. I am having a difficult time figuring how to get my certifications accredited by one of these organizations. I talked with a woman from Missouri Fire Marshals office. I would have to retake (or take their state exams) and complete the practicals at a local Missouri FD.

Working a full-time job this is not practical.

Is there a way to get this all done online, or have the Illinois system reviewed? There has to be a better way!!!

Forum Member

IFSAC and Pro Board accredit the training programs at "certain training facilities". If you want a certificate accredited by either of these, then you will have to take the course from some one who is already accredited by them. There is no "transfer" option.
    Just someone trying to help! (And by the way....Thanks for YOUR help!)

Aggressive does not have to equal stupid.

** "The comments made here are this person's views and possibly that of the organizations to which I am affiliated" **

MembersZone Subscriber

Yep....

Illinois at one time participated in IFSAC accreditation. Don't know why but now they do not. Looks like I cannot get certified or accredited what-ever you call it.

MembersZone Subscriber

Another option that you could look at is getting your IFSAC certs from a fire school. Many are only a week long. I had to go back trough everything when I got my current position bacause I came from a non-IFSAC state and the DOD wouldn't allow reciprocity.

Forum Member