Forum Member

Default Thinking of joining the Dark Side!!...Help!

I have been a Law Enforcement Officer for several years, a few months back my now 18 year-old son gave me horrible news...he told me he wanted to be a Firefighter.

I swallowed hard and told him that I would help him research his options and find out what he needed to do to get his foot in the door.

After talking to some FD (Arizona) folks, researching community college programs and searching the web; I was able to give him some decent info. I also realized that just possibly I may be interested in a career change.

No other job allows you to show up at someone's home, break down their door, flood thier home with water, cut holes in the roof and then have the homeowner actually thank you and bake you a freakin pie!!

Seriously, my research for my son has really led me to think about changing careers. I am 38, in pretty decent shape (could be better) and have a spotless record with my agency (even a few good commendations).

I got into Law Enforcement to help people. Lately, I really don't feel like I am helping anyone that wants to be helped. I am sick of the courts, sick of the PC approach to LE and sick of going to the same house to take the same husband away for beating the same wife.

I guess my questions are:

How old is too old to be a Firefighter?

Will my background in LE assist me in getting hired on in a department (I have already had the academy experience, had a full background, poly, pysch tests)?

What can I expect from the interviews, academy, first year on the job?
    Any response from those working in FF (especially Arizona) would be helpful.

Also, I'm not really big on heights; how much work is done on ladders more than two stories? I am not at phobia stage with heights, I just prefer the ground if at all possible.

Forum Member