Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber KevinFFVFD's Avatar

Default Would relly appreciate some advice...

hey everyone. i was hopping to talk to someone either from the Jackson Fire Department (in Mississippi) or the Birmingham Fire Department. Also anyone who is a career firefighter around the Birmingham area.

i am a volunteer firefighter and i am going to EMT school. i want to be on a big department. i live in vicksburg (which is why i am interested in jackson) but my girlfriend goes to UAB in Birmingham and I might move to that area once we both finish school. it all depends on what we want at that time, but its going to be either area. just want to talk to firefighters from these department to get an idea of what to look for, what training i need, and what i need to do between now and then to get ready for those department.

thanks everyone. stay safe.

I'm about 90 miles south of Birmingham so keep that in mind....

If it were me, I would really look in the suburbs. Birmingham is surrounded by some of the most affluent communities in the State of Alabama and pay significantly higher than Birmingham. According to the Alabama League of Municipalities, in 2005 the starting salary in Birmingham was anywhere from 10 to 15 thousand a year less than Hoover, Pelham, etc.