Default New probie here....

After five hard years of work I just got my formal offer today, I start the academy with Portland Fire Bureau on the 31st of this month. I am new to the fire service, although I did take my FS flasses as well as Paramedic school. Any advice for a 31 year old probie?

Kelly Webber
    Firefighter-Trainee / EMT

Forum Member

Red face Congradulations!

STATION LIFE

Eye's and ear's open...........mouth shut. Learn all you can and study! You have no right to having opinions.....you are not "one of the guy's" yet. You will have at least a year of probation. No sitting in the "blue chairs" (recliners), no watching TV, last to go to sleep, first to get up, make the coffee, put the flag up, clean the crappers, mop the floors, make sure the station is locked an secure at 5PM, first one in turn out's and on the apparatus ready to go. Volunteer for any duties that need to be done around the station. Mow the lawn. Check all your equipment on the engine/truck/ambulance in the morning. Bring in the newspaper. Help the cook that day with lunch/dinner. Set the table, do the dishes. You are the last one to serve yourself chow. Be the first to answer the station phone. Leave your CELL phone in your vehicle. You will have no time for personal phone calls. Give your wife/girlfriend the station number and tell them to call ONLY IN A DIRE EMERGENCY!!! Answer yes sir/no sir to your crew unless they tell you otherwise.

Bring ice cream, bagels/cream cheese your first shift. And don't bring the cheap sh*t. Bring name brand ice cream in the round half-gallon containers (Bryers, Hagen Daze, etc) Bagels need to be fresh from a bagel store. Bring a variety....not all one flavor. Same with the cream cheese. You could also bring some gormet coffee. Nothing more ****es me off than when we get a new snot nosed BOOT and they don't bring anything for us on their first shift. Show's how appreciative they are to be there.