Forum Member

Default Career and Volunteer both

I have a question for all the Career guys. I am currently a POC/VOL firefighter/EMT on a dept serving about 6600 people. I have started applying for career jobs in the area. My question I have for you guys is, how is it viewed by other career members for a career guy to also be a volunteer in a different community. Are they considered scum for not trying to get full time where they live, or are they viewed as scabs for working as a volunteer POC in that community. I dont want to cause problems. I am just curious because I really dont plan on leaving my vol dept if I get on somewhere full time. Also we are union on the POC Vol dept, through the IBEW though not IAFF.

MembersZone Subscriber

I think you'll find it varies by region, department, and person.

Forum Member
    Rural Wisconsin, Retired from the burbs of Milwaukee

Quote Originally Posted by FireDawgEMT22 View Post
    I have a question for all the Career guys. I am currently a POC/VOL firefighter/EMT on a dept serving about 6600 people. I have started applying for career jobs in the area. My question I have for you guys is, how is it viewed by other career members for a career guy to also be a volunteer in a different community. Are they considered scum for not trying to get full time where they live, or are they viewed as scabs for working as a volunteer POC in that community. I dont want to cause problems. I am just curious because I really dont plan on leaving my vol dept if I get on somewhere full time. Also we are union on the POC Vol dept, through the IBEW though not IAFF.
    Okay, first of all be aware that in many career FD's this is a very big issue from the Union side. But there are also career Fd's that prohibit this from the admin side too. Then there are some FD's that simply don't make a big deal out of it.