Forum Member

Default In highschool looking for advice

Hi all. I'm currently a sophomore at a private Catholic highschool in northern California and looking to become a firefighter. I have met with my school's college advisor several times, but she's never given me advice other than "look online". I'm most likely going to join a local fire explorer program within a few months, but other than that I'm completely clueless on where to start. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Forum Member

This is the perfect place to start. I think joining the explorer program is a good idea. The do not expect you to know it all when you become an exporer. I was in your place two years ago. I read as much on firefighting as I could. I did not have an explorer program so I had to wait until I was 18 to join my volunteer fire department. Your college advisor should do a better job than look online. My advisor kept telling me I should go to college and then think about firefighting. I would workout, read, make good grades, and stay out of trouble. Good Luck!

Forum Member

Check out your local community colleges. I know many CA colleges have fire academies to get your basic firefighter certifications. Work on your EMT, and look into maybe becoming a paramedic. These are all things to do after high school, but look into the kind of programs offered. There are many ways to become a firefighter, but focus on what was mentioned above- stay out of trouble, drugs, stay in shape etc...

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by TNFF319 View Post