MembersZone Subscriber

Default Study Content Of Department Testing

Hello all,
    I'm a newly certified EMT-B. Everyone says go around and test at as many places as possible... Great! Can't wait, just need to know what should I be studying? Will I be quizzed on fire or unrelated things? General math and science? Sewing? I have no clue how to prepare myself... if somebody could just let me know what one of these department tests are like, that would be great. I want to pass and get my name on a list ASAP. Thanks!

MembersZone Subscriber

You should try to get a few of the several Firefighter Test prep books that are probably available at your local bookstore, or go to the Firefighter's Bookstore online. Some of the ones I know of are the Arco Firefighter Civil Service Test Book, Barrons How to Prepare for Firefighter Exams and Norman Hall's Firefighter Exam Preparation Book.

Most of the tests involve general intelligence/knowledge and require no previous experience. The "wild card" so to speak is the "CWH" test which focuses less on general intelligence and has a lot of situational and personality type questions.

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by BackstepFF View Post
    You should try to get a few of the several Firefighter Test prep books that are probably available at your local bookstore, or go to the Firefighter's Bookstore online. Some of the ones I know of are the Arco Firefighter Civil Service Test Book, Barrons How to Prepare for Firefighter Exams and Norman Hall's Firefighter Exam Preparation Book.

Most of the tests involve general intelligence/knowledge and require no previous experience. The "wild card" so to speak is the "CWH" test which focuses less on general intelligence and has a lot of situational and personality type questions.