Default How long does the hiring process take?

From what I've been reading it seems like the hiring process for firefighters takes a while. Testing is done every couple of years or something like that? The reason I ask is because I am currently a sophomore in college and will be taking my EMT-B class in the fall or next spring and am trying to figure out when a good time to apply is. I want to finish my degree first, but don't want to sit around for 2 years after graduation before I can get a job....it would be much better to go to the academy soon after graduation.

Thank you

P.S. Sorry for the rushed message but I'm a little short on time...hope it's not too unclear

MembersZone Subscriber

I would say it all comes down to youre qualifications/experience and how aggressive you are at going and testing. I've met people that took one test out of nowhere, with no fire experiece at all and get hired, but I have also met people that got hired after 20+. There is no way to nail down a specific amount of time that it will take you. But I would say that 2-3 years wouldnt be a bad guess. Good luck!

Forum Member

It is all about timing and the specific departments that you apply to. Could take 4 months, could take 2+ years, or it could turn out that you are not as strong or smart as you think you are and you could never get hired at all. All depends on the needs of the departments you apply to at the time that you apply.
    Be for Peace, but don't be for the Enemy!
    -Big Russ

Learn from the mistakes of others; you won't live long enough to make them all yourself.

Quote Originally Posted by nyckftbl View Post
    LOL....dont you people have anything else to do besides b*tch about our b*tching?

Can someone please explain what all this means:

Current Appointment Information ( Exam # 2043 )