Forum Member

Default Personal Flashlight Survey

Im a product design student looking to create products related to emergency services especially the fire department. my current task is to redesign the right angle flashlight. common examples are the Streamlight Survivor and the Pelican Little Ed.

my question to all of you is:
    what makes you carry a personal light?
    what brand/model?
    what are the strengths?
    what are the weaknesses?
    what would you like to see incorperated into a new light?

thanks for your cooperation and time.
    FF Brandon Link
    Spangler Fire Company
    Product Designer/Custom Fabricator

Forum Member

Durability! Can't beat the Pelican unconditional arranty either.
    Jason Brooks
    IAFF Local 2388
    IACOJ

Forum Member
    Rural Wisconsin, Retired from the burbs of Milwaukee

My personal safety and convenience. It is lighter and much easier to use that the big litebox style lights.

what brand/model?

Right angle falshlight is a Steamlight Survivor xl90.

My helmet light and the light I carry in my pocket are both UK 4AA. Why these 2 additional lights? Easy, I never heard anyone at a fire complain about having too much light.

what are the strengths?

Tough, durable, easy to operate.

what are the weaknesses?

I have an older one and difficulty of battery change was a problem. The new generation fixed that.

Same quality, lower price. Made in the USA.

Hope this helps,

FyredUp

MembersZone Subscriber

because i personally dont trust the handlights that come off of the engine. i would rather be carrying a flashlight around that i know is going to work when i need it to. plus as said by FyredUp "you cant carry to much light with you."

what brand/model?
    i carry 4 lights with me. i use the Streamlight Survivor LED
    http://www.thefirestore.com/store/pr..._charge_model/

a Pelican 2400C StealthLite mounted to my helmet
    http://www.thefirestore.com/store/pr...ries_included/