Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread
    Forum Member

Default Which is the best option; Roth IRA or 457(b)

I know I don't make a whole lot of money, so I need to invest the best way possible. I have read different opinions on which route is the better of the two, and I'm still unsure which is best for me. I am 23 years old and started a 457(b) plan that is not matched by the city. I am investing $2000 a year right now, and I make just under 30k a year so it's not going to affect my taxes hardly at all. I know have the option to begin a Roth IRA, and need help figuring out which plan, or combinations of the two, is best for me, or if I should be doing something different than these options. Also, how will factors like getting married, having kids, or increasing my salary affect the way I invest?

I know that's alot to ask, but I would greatly appriciate any help at all.

I am not a Financial Expert, but wouldnt the Roth be better since you pay the taxes up front?

I will forward your post to a friend who will can answer this.

Forum Member FireCapt1951retired's Avatar