Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Lightbulb Outside Line Attacks

I just had a recent discussion with one of my partners about attack lines, As an engineer, I like to get my guys set up for the interior attack, get the RIT taken care of and then grab the trash line or another crosslay and hit what I can from the outside, His concern was that I could push the fire back onto them, This should be done with caution and communication, I just wanted to know what everyone thinks or does?

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by Firefletch67 View Post
    I just had a recent discussion with one of my partners about attack lines, As an engineer, I like to get my guys set up for the interior attack, get the RIT taken care of and then grab the trash line or another crosslay and hit what I can from the outside, His concern was that I could push the fire back onto them, This should be done with caution and communication, I just wanted to know what everyone thinks or does?
    Without getting into whether you can "push" fire, it's not a good idea. The biggest thing is that you can disrupt the thermal layring and push a helluva lot of heat on the guys inside.

The other thing that concerns me is if you're an engineer, you need to be on the pump panel, not fighting fire. If something goes wrong, you need to be able to take care of it at the panel immediately, not have to leave a nozzle and get to the panel.

MembersZone Subscriber

I would not be happy if a line was put into the building with a crew inside unless specifically requested by the IC and done knowing where the crews area and the needs. As a rule we never dump water in from outside with crews inside. Now, an exposure line or something to stop exterior fire spread, I'd be OK with as long as the water did not get directed in.