Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Dcfd

MembersZone Subscriber BigBruno's Avatar

Default Dcfd

Good afternoon.
    I was wondering if I could get some advice from some other firemen. I am cognizant of the fact that DCFD will not reopen again for a while; but I would love to apply when they re-open.

Currently, I am getting ready to start the process with Montgomery and Fairfax Counties, but I would just die for a chance to be a DC firefighter. Would it be foolish to turn down other offers to wait for DCFD? I am currently a firefighter in the Air Force and am going to college.

I was wondering if anyone could give some inside scoop on DCFD, and if it is worth the wait. I would like my next move to be my final career move.

A friend told me that the benefits in Montgomery are better than Washington, DC, but I am not too concerned about the pay and benifits; but that might be something to think about down the road if I have a family.

Thanks, in advance for you time to this response!

-BigBruno
    Last edited by BigBruno; 06-07-2007 at 01:39 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by BigBruno View Post
    Good afternoon.
    I was wondering if I could get some advice from some other firemen. I am cognizant of the fact that DCFD will not reopen again for a while; but I would love to apply when they re-open.

Currently, I am getting ready to start the process with Montgomery and Fairfax Counties, but I would just die for a chance to be a DC firefighter. Would it be foolish to turn down other offers to wait for DCFD? I am currently a firefighter in the Air Force and am going to college.

I was wondering if anyone could give some inside scoop on DCFD, and if it is worth the wait. I would like my next move to be my final career move.

A friend told me that the benefits in Montgomery are better than Washington, DC, but I am not too concerned about the pay and benifits; but that might be something to think about down the road if I have a family.