Forum Member

Default Hand-Carrying the Litter

Hello.

I'm quite new to SAR and just got back yesterday from a lovely weekend of basic training.

I had a great time and few issues except for one: carrying the litter by hand.

We're out in Colorado so there's a considerable possibility of carrying out a heavy vic in a litter for a good distance by hand over rough terrain with little relief and without a wheel or ATV or anything. So of course, this means that in training, we carried heavy vics in the litter up the steepest slopes over the roughest terrain for miles. Over and over again. It kicked my butt.

I didn't expect this task to be easy (especially because I'm a smaller, 17 yo girl) but of course I'd like to minimize any hand blisters, wrist injuries and shoulder strains in the future.

I know that I need to lean outwards and lift with my legs, but can anyone provide any further advice or tips? Even suggestions as to a type of glove that works well with litter-carrying or good exercises would be greatly appreciated. Preparation is most of the work anyways.

Thank you!

Forum Member

Hi,

Sounds like you had some fun.

We use webbing to make loops (kinda like a dog leash) and wrap your hand through the loop. Also you can make bigger loops / slings and put over your shoulder and/or a combination of one end over shoulder and one end around your wrist.

Sorry that I am not clear and that I don't have any pictures...but if you just play around with it you can come up with some sort of a system that may work for you.

Also...it is not too smart to work till you are tired. Your team must rotate prior to getting tired. You will actually last longer if you do shorter shifts carring the load. You must also keep the machine fueled...eat and drink.

Take care,
    MEDIC-0372

Forum Member