Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Can Canadian firefighters get hired in America

Brothers
    Im a Canadian Professional Firefighter, and my wife has a job opportunity in Ohio. Anyone know how a Canadian Firefighter can get hired in the U.S? Is there a transfer available? Any information would be greatly appreciated.

yours in fire

MembersZone Subscriber

Look into IFSAC. If you can get your IFSAC certs, some states in the U.S. will grant reciprocity for IFSAC seals. In your case, I don't specifically know if Ohio is an IFSAC state. I do know that Texas is one though.

Best of luck.

Forum Member

Ohio is not an accreditate state fire program. Nothing will transfer here for fire. You may or may not be able to transfer EMS certifications since we use national registry. I don't know how that may effect Canada. Unfortunately you will need to takke fire school over again to be certified in Ohio. Also, be aware that depending on what part of Ohio you are looking at, medic certifications are necessary for jobs. This is a great time to be looking for jobs. The DROP program is starting to see a bunch of guys retire everywhere. This year will be a great year to be taking tests here.
    Jason Brooks
    IAFF Local 2388
    IACOJ

jb, no offense bro, maybe things have changed, but,

I had Marines in my reserve unit whose DoD IFSAC certs were transferred to OH, and others who were already OH firefighters and were given DoD reciprocity. Ohio is listed as an IFSAC member. Here's the Ohio fire academy website, contact them to be sure.

http://www.com.state.oh.us/sfm/fmac/

Quote Originally Posted by STFDladder5 View Post
    Brothers
    Im a Canadian Professional Firefighter, and my wife has a job opportunity in Ohio. Anyone know how a Canadian Firefighter can get hired in the U.S? Is there a transfer available? Any information would be greatly appreciated.

yours in fire