Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pump Card

Forum Member

Default Pump Card

I'm thinking about making some kind of a pump cheat card. Something that is specific to our engines and nozzles to reference for setting up initial pressures I thought would be a good start. I'm a fill in driver so I don't always drive the same engine but their set up the same for the most part. Does anybody else have anything like this or know where I can see a reference? Also, any other ideas for information that might be helpful to have on this type of card? Any help is appreciated. Thanks

Forum Member

Ours has the following information on it:

Standard EP's and GPM for our preconnected hoselines 200' & 300'

EP's & GPM for lengths of 2.5" pumped to both fog and smooth bore nozzles

EP's & GPM for lengths of 5" pumped to our Akron Monitor

Fritction Loss for lengths of 5"

Friction Loss for lengths of 2.5"

The calculation for Engine Pressure with grease pencil markings:

EP = Nozzle + FL + Floors Above / Below Grade + Appliance

Basic Diagram & Options for pumping the in-line eductor

It is two 8.5" x 11" pages that are taped to all of the inside portion of the pump compartment. Grease pencil on a string taped to the sheet and a box of chalk for marking hand-lines.

Not very scientific and everything is rounded to the nearest 5 or 0. For example no 112 or 118 it is 110 & 120

Forum Member

I have one that I can send you if you are interested. I will even try to post it on here for anyone else. However, at this time it is on the work computer, I thought I had it at home. So it will take a couple of days.
    Jason Brooks
    IAFF Local 2388
    IACOJ

Forum Member

Neat idea, but I just always think that if it isn't at the right pressure, the guys on the pipe will let you know.

Forum Member