MembersZone Subscriber

Question 2 in/2 out and South Carolina

I don't want to start a debate about the recent loss of 9 brave brothers in Charleston but I am looking for some info about firefighting and safety procedures in South Carolina. As a Safety Officer I have been reading all I can about this tragic fire in hopes of learning anything I can to prevent this from occuring where I work. The question I have is this, I have read on 2 different occasions that S.Carolina has a 2 in/1 out rule. Can someone explain this ? My understanding is that Federal OSHA 1910.134 Resp. Protection Standard requries 2in/2out and if you are covered by a State OSHA plan it must be EQUAL to or greater than Feds. Knowing this how does S.Carolina have a different standard ???

MembersZone Subscriber

I was wondering the same thing, and have had the same understanding in regards to meeting or exceeding the OSHA regs.

Iranfromthezoo

I just graduated the academy in SC and now work with a SC dept here and the 2 in 2 out rule was preached so much that in the academy we actually had to have someone with us when we went to the bathroom or anywhere else. Accountability was a major thing there.

Our dept is very big in accountability with the two in two out rule....So I'm actually quite confused on the two in 1 out rule....

Granted the RIT team can be doing other exterior operations but must be close to the entrance and can't be doing important task.

MembersZone Subscriber

Question Still confused.....

Thank Cato36, I am glad to here that but I know I'm not imagining things, here is part of the articles I read.

"He said South Carolina is one of the only states in the nation that does not require two firefighters on rescue standby for every two firefighters that enter a burning building."

And

"The state requires only one firefighter for every two inside. "
    Bowie led the charge against the 2 in 2 out standard helping to establish