Default Problems with VFD, need some help here...

I'm a firefighter for my local VOLUNTEER Fire Rescue company. I make my calls, I make my drills, I make my sub sales, I try to make my work details, and when we set up for fairs for dime pitches, I make those If I can. My problem is this, my job requires me to wake up at 4 in the morning, I have tons of work to do around the house, and I want to spend time with my wife.

However, I get griped at when I stay until I gotta leave. For example, last week I worked a dime pitch at our local 4th of july fair, I told my chief that I can only stay from 5-8pm. That's 3 hours, the next thing I know, he blows up. He tells me that he wakes up at 5am, goes to work, comes home long enough to take a shower and eat, leaves for the dime pitch, stays from 5 until 11 then goes home. BTW, he's married too.

My job is a very dangerous one as I work in a foundry. He calls me on my cell phone, or harrasses me on my home phone, prys and trys to find out what I'm doing. The moment I say I'm doing something with my wife, or doing housework, he expects me to drop what I'm doing.

Am I wrong to feel like I'm being used and abused by my VOLUNTEER Fire Dept.?

I love being a firefighter, but this issue is making me push myself to another company.

Forum Member

When somebody will not leave me alone, I will start talking about all the "bills" that I have, and how "tight" money is getting. Then I will start hinting about maybe "If I could just get a little loan to get by until my overtime catches me up."
    Usually this will cause the annoying party to retreat in haste, and my phone will be quiet for a while.. If they offer to make a loan, (unlikely) just state that you "should be alright for now, with all the overtime" you are supposed to be getting..