Thread: The Blame Game

MembersZone Subscriber

Default The Blame Game

I'm an Industrial Firefighter that happens to also be on a volunteer dpt. I started out on this Volunteer Dpt. The thing is of late I've noticed a decline of already low standards, firefighters would just assume stab you in the back as look at you. Approx. 2-4 weeks ago OSHA came and inspected us because someone sent them a letter. Now 80% of the VFD is head hunting and more concerned about screwing the guy that did this too us than fixing the problem.

It's even gone as far as 2 files missing which contained important training documents, I'm the training officer. I'm here to tell ya one file contained literally nothing and the other contained nothing that was required. I can't conduct training because my chief will only allow his pre-approved water out of trucks. let alone I have a time slot of 40-70 minutes. Also when 0-5 people show for training, it's kinda hard.

So with these 2 mystery files that were "stolen" the chief has brought in the state police to investigate stolen files which didn't exist. So guess who's in the pot getting cooked? The chief and his minions are also trying to pin this on who they think sent the letter to OSHA. Interesting fact, who they think is involved, isn't.

So I apologize if this seemed like more complaining than anything. How do I get the others to stop pointing fingers, grow up, and work on fixing what needs to be fixed? Or any other advice, such as how to firmly attach one rope to another, cause I'm getting way to close to the end of this one.

MembersZone Subscriber

I guess you shouldn't have called OSHA, then.

Chuck

Your also generalizing all VFD. Not all are like that, just like not all Career guys are like that.
    This is not isolated, but not the norm either. Sounds like your chief/officers need to step in and fix this quick.

Chuck

MembersZone Subscriber

Cool C.y.a.