Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: A few questions

Forum Member

Default A few questions

Hello all, nice to meet everyone. I'm a brand new aspiring firefighter. I would like to ask a few questions. I am 27, I have been working in the oil field since I turned 18, as I married my high school sweetheart and had to get a decent job asap to support us financially. Recently a friend of mine since high school got hired on to a fire department in Ft Worth. He suggested I try to become one as well, saying I have the heart of one. I have always loved helping people, volunteering to help build churches and whatnot on my sparetime. I became fascinated with the idea and can't get the thought out of my brain. I don't know why I didn't think of it before. It's my dream job to actually get paid to help people. Anyhoo, what it boils down to.

I do not have the greatest track record. My credit history isn't the greatest. Actually I have none. I always paid for everything cash (oil field work does pay well at least) I do have a truck repo on my credit from about 5 years ago though. So I guess all I have is bad credit. Blah I was arrested once when I was 21 for not paying a no insurance ticket I had. Other than that, never been in trouble of any kind. All that in mind, I cannot take off from work to go to a fire academy. So I decided to do it online. Trainingdivision.com.....Is that place any good? Would an online academy worsen my chances? By the time I get everything, such as a degree in fire science etc I will be pushing 30, with my track record...at 30 What kind of chances do I stand of actually making it? I would hate to frustrate my wife, and miss spending the much needed time with my 2 kids by spending 1000's of dollars and man hours on trying to pursue this and not standing a chance against the younger 21 yr old recruit with an impeccable record all around. I would appreciate any advice. Sincerely Thanks