Forum Member

Default Looking to get into FFing in Metro Atlanta Area

Hello. I'm looking at getting info FFing/EMT on a full-time paid basis. I did a little volunteering about 3 or 4 yrs ago before the dept went to full-time career basis (the small city dissolved the all volunteer dept and contracted with the county). At the moment I'm an airline pilot flying as a first officer for one of the US Airways Express carriers. I have been back flying for the airlines about 3 yrs now. I took a brief stint off from flying after 911 (2 yrs or so) because there were no jobs. I took a sales job and didn't really like it at all even though I was making good money. Well when the airlines started hiring again I jumped back into the flying game because I missed it. I flew corporate jets and flight instructed for about 2 yrs before 911. Well after 3 yrs I still enjoy flying I'm just a little burned out being gone from home half the month. We average 14-16 days off per month. That still doesn't change the fact that I'm gone the other 14-16.

I really want to be home more because after only 3 yrs back in the flying game I feel I have missed so much of my 5 yr old son growing up. I also got divorced about 2 yrs ago as well. I started the EMT-B program at Lanier Tech and went until the end but had to many absences due to work to finish the quarter. Well now with a little better seniority (we bid our monthly schedules based on pure seniority) I think I could get the days off that I need to complete the EMT program. It would be tough but I think I could do it even if I had to call in sick a time or 2 to finish the quarter although I hate the idea of doing that. It would be much easier if I could get hired and then complete EMT school. I wouldn't mind sometime down the road getting my EMT-P.