Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Questions about FF academy.

I'm a 19 year old EMT-B student, I'll finish in Sept 1st. I've been volunteering with Rescue now for over 6 months. Now I'm thinking of taking the plunge and entering the fire academy too. I just have a couple questions. I'm 6'3, and weigh 250. I am pretty strong and very agile for my size.

My job is pretty strenuous now, I work construction, most days near 12 hours. I often hand shoveled about 8 tons of dirt a day, not to mention unloading it from the trucks by hand. And I've taken 3 -80 pound bags of cement on my shoulder before with no trouble.

I was just wondering, how many FF's are there my size? I'm in the process of losing more weight now along with more weight training. So by the time the adacemy started, I'd be down to about 230, not to mention all the weight I'd lose in the academy.

Opinions?

Forum Member
    Bouncin between the rust belts mitten and Charm City on the Chesapeake

Tell ya what man....every academy is different. The one I went to was from September till May....like 2 college semesters. It was 2 nites a week and every other Saturday. We did no physical training at all as far as workin out. I was doing my own thing most of the time I was going through that academy so I was alright, but some guys actually gained weight from start to finish and it wasn't muscle. The academy also offered a daytime academy as well and those guys worked out I know. They only did like a mile a day run tho so nothing too bad.