MembersZone Subscriber

Default Just got hired....

Hey everyone. I am new to the dispatcher forum. I just went for my interview today at the E-911 center here and was “conditionally” hired by the director. Of course it still has to be approved by the 911 board, but I am not worried about that because most of the people on the board said they will approve me, and I’m sure the others whom I haven’t talked to will approve me also.

But anyways, here is my question……

He went in a little bit about the training, such as a 40 hour dispatch training, 24 hour EMD training, 3 ride-along and so forth. What I wanted to know is what to expect in training? What kind of stuff do they cover? Also does anyone have advice for a first time dispatch trainee?

Thanks everyone, stay safe.

Forum Member

Listen listen listen !!!

Thats the best way to learn, thats how I picked it up, the only way to get good is to learn and do it, there simply is no other way.

ITs a great job, enjoy !!

MembersZone Subscriber

Congratulations! You're getting into a great part of emergency services. Communications is essential to this "business," and it is our job to provide the best information to our responders.

To answer your questions, you can probably expect to work with more than one trainer during the course of your training (which will likely take several months). In our department, our trainees work with a different trainer on each of the three shifts, and get to work on each of the three positions (City Police; County Police; and Fire) before they're put on their own.

You'll be learning how to answer the phone; what questions to ask and in what order; what information the various responders will need for the various kinds of calls. You'll have to learn how to "translate" caller's emotional and confused/confusing information into simple, clear text that can be easily given to responders. And you'll learn various computer programs to put everything together.