Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Tactical pics from FH.coms story......is this even RIGHT??

I am not an expert on tactics, and am not even going to pretend to be.

That said, ventilation holes in the roof, made by firefighters, naturally, or by the fire, are there for a reason, right? To let the smoke and hot gasses escape. Applying water to/through them disrupts the thermal balance, and makes fighting it that much harder.

In addition, when fire is BELOW the roof you are working on, you make the cuts, get off. QUICKLY. That just does not seem to be in effect here.

That said, here are the pics.

This is not a "well, they messed up, hows about we Monday Morning QB them" This is me trying to learn if there is a legit reason for doing this, so do NOT accuse my of doing so.
    Attached Images Attached Images      
    AJ, MICP, FireMedic
    Member, IACOJ.
    FTM-PTB-EGH-DTRT-RFB-KTF
    This message has been made longer, in part from a grant from the You Are a Freaking Moron Foundation.

and more pics.....
    Attached Images Attached Images    
    AJ, MICP, FireMedic
    Member, IACOJ.
    FTM-PTB-EGH-DTRT-RFB-KTF
    This message has been made longer, in part from a grant from the You Are a Freaking Moron Foundation.

BLS Boy-
    I don't know much about the situation. I haven't seen the article. Do you have anymore info?

My guess:
    There is a firewall in the attic space connecting the two buildings. It "appears" that they are not spraying water into the vent holes. It "appears" that they are sprying on the unburned portion of the exterior roof. It also "appears" that nobody is getting water on the seat of the fire. Can't tell if the Tower is protecting exposures or putting water interior (although it still appears no water is hitting the fire).

My thoughts:
    Don't know enough to comment.
    "...there isn't a firefighter in the free world who is forced to join this profession." -John Norman