Default Retirement benefits

Hello everyone!!!

I'm an Italian Firefighter.

What kind of retirement benefits has a career firefighter?

May he retires with full pension benefits at a younger age than other private or public sector employees?

Forum Member

I was in Italy in May, beautiful country. Retirement benefits vary between different cities. In my city you can retire after 20 years with a pension of 50% of your salary. If you serve 25 years you get a pension of 70% of your salary. We have cost of living increases for retirees. Age is not a factor for pension benefits but it is for medical coverage. My city will only pay for medical coverage for retirees over the age of 50. Members who served in the military can "buy" up to 4 years of time to put toward retirement so a member who served 4 years in the military can retire with a pension in as little as 16 years.

MembersZone Subscriber

Our dept's retirement is 25 years, no age restrictions, 2/3 of your best 3 years pay average. It can be increased 1% per year for a max of 76% at 30 years.

Forum Member

In the Massachusetts cili service system, the magic numbers are age 55 with 32 years of service. Depending on which option you choose, you get between 70% and 80% of your highest 3 years salary average.
    Last edited by CaptainGonzo; 08-14-2007 at 02:34 PM.
    ‎"The education of a firefighter and the continued education of a firefighter is what makes "real" firefighters. Continuous skill development is the core of progressive firefighting. We learn by doing and doing it again and again, both on the training ground and the fireground."
    Lt. Ray McCormack, FDNY

Forum Member