MembersZone Subscriber

Default Learning the city

I am new to city I have been hired at and I am looking for suggestions and advice about what is the best way to learn the city streets. Anyone?

MembersZone Subscriber

Find your district and drive it... drive it... DRIVE IT.

Easy way to remember the streets is to take the first letter of the streets... example S-B-C.... A-S-T... crap like that to help you remember. Some times, some streets are arranged together with alike names... such as bird streets, tree streets.... crap like that. That way, when you hear the name, such as Canary or Lark or Hawk... you would know where its located.

You can stare at a box book all day long and you will get some success out of it... but you really need to drive the streets. Take time with your crew and see if they will drive the streets with you.

Forum Member

Pay attention to the streets you pass on runs. When you go out for inspections or out to eat ask the driver to take diffrent routes so you can learn the area.

MembersZone Subscriber

Some good advise posted. I would also suggest you first learn the main roads through your area as well as major landmarks, i.e. schools, apartment buildings, parks, etc.
    -------------------
    "The most mediocre man or woman can suddenly seem dynamic, forceful, and decisive if he or she is mean enough." from "Crazy Bosses"
    -----------------------------------------------
    Genius has its limits, but stupidity is boundless.

Forum Member

Being a fairly new driver for my department, I've found landmarks are especially helpful. Even if the landmark is the site of a previous big call, or other memorable incident.

Other than that, like was said, drive drive drive. I still try to find new ways everywhere, and on days I don't have to work, or am just bored, I go out for a ride, and just see where different streets I don't normally use, take me.

Forum Member