Forum Member

MembersZone Subscriber

I was a volunteer for an agency bordering Duluth for three years. I'm not an expert, nor did I stay at the Holiday Inn Express, but these are my observations.

DFD staffing: Nine engines, one ladder, one quint, one TL, one rescue, one BC, out of nine stations. FD provides BLS EMS first response, all transport by private provider (Gold Cross).

Some potential problems: Some of their outlying engines are staffed with only two. One engine company is on a miles-long mostly residential peninsula, and the call volume is so low that it is staffed with only one, with the potential to be cut off from the mainland for extended periods while a lift bridge is opened. Cutbacks have eliminated a handful of companies and trimmed staffing on remaining units in the past ten years. Recent administration debated making crews do grounds or street maintenance for the City on the side, but that died out quickly in the resulting uproar.

On the other hand, Duluth is a beautiful city, cost of living is relatively low, there is a lot to do on your time off (camping, hiking, boating, skiing, snowmobiling, ATVs, lakes). I know a handful of guys on DFD, and I can't think of any of them that are unhappy with the agency.
    You only have to be stupid once to be dead permanently
    IACOJ Power Company Liason
    When trouble arises and things look bad, there is always one individual who perceives a solution
    and is willing to take command. Very often, that individual is crazy. - Dave Barry.

MembersZone Subscriber

I am definatly putting an app in. Does anyone have any info on the whole hiring process? is the written a general civil service exam or a new psych test like Madison had?
    I appreciate any info

MembersZone Subscriber

Hey guys, I'm a Duluth firefighter.