Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Vent Saws

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Vent Saws

I know there has been lots of disucssion on different vent saws, we are currently looking to purchase one. We had a saw to demo the other night at training it was a SureVent saw. I was wondering if anyone has had any experience with this brand. We also had a chance to use a Cuters Edge last year and the only trouble was the chain came off two times while cutting about 4 holes.

Regards,

JS

If you had problems with a Cutters Edge, someone wasnt doing something right or something was previously outtawack. Was it a dealer's demo unit? If so it was probably used and abused to the max. I have been using Cutters Edge saws for over 10 years and have NEVER, repeat NEVER had one leave me hanging- Like anything else they require routine maintenance to be on the ready. CE puts out a quality product, sounds to me like you were having (bent/out of alignment) clutch sprocket problems on that one you mentioned.

Cant speak for SureVent, never heard of them.

If I may offer some advice, if you only have money budgeted for one unit, I reccomend a circular saw with multiple blades- buy a warthog (DO NOT BUY ANY OTHERS!) and several carbide/abrasive steel and concrete blades. That way, you have the ability to cut multiple materials. I would buy a Partner K950A. A GREAT saw coupled with the Warthog blade with plenty of horsepower and not as big and bulky as the K-1200. Stay away from Stihl circular saws, TOO BIG TOO BULKY.

If you have the money, I would buy a Partner K-950A and a Cutters Edge chainsaw. Stihl chainsaws are great units, but they dont have one that turns a carbide/bullet chain fast enough (see the other thread.)
    "Loyalty Above all Else. Except Honor."