Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Problem With Senior Officer...

So I am very new to the fire service, I just finished Academy, and am at a house running shifts. I absolutly love the job so far, and have had great experiences so early in my career. Anyway I have had some problems with an officer at our department.

I understand that I am a probie, and that I need to get some time on and learn. I know that I am the bottom of the barrel, and I am OK with that. I am in no way the type of person to act like I know everything, and I consider myself very humble (unlike some of the other probies around my department). Anyway this particular officer is extremely disrespectful to me. Not just giving me crap because I am a probie, but down right disrespectful. I try to learn as much as I can when on shift, and I am always up for more training and drilling. I just want to be the best firefighter as I possibly can, but this officer won't help me learn. I have asked numerous questions and all I ever get is "why don't you figure it out", or just "get ot of my face, stupid".

It is hard for me because I graduated very high in my class, and I am not stupid, I just want to learn, but this officer is not helping me at all. I have worked with other officers and FF's, and they all seem to like me and want to help me learn, but this particular senior officer just treats me like crap.

So any ideas as to what I can do? The said officer is very knowledgable and has 20+ years on the job, and I have total respect for him, but I don't know how to approach the negative treatment I am receiving.

Thanks

MembersZone Subscriber