Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Class A Uniform

Forum Member

Default Class A Uniform

I've got an interview coming up and am thinking about wearing my Class A's from my current dept. I am proud of where I'm coming from but I just don't want to buy a suit for one day and never wear it again. What do you think is it too much? I'm looking for advice from people on hiring boards.

Ok, I'm not on a FD hiring board, so take what I say as you want.

If you can't take the time and effort to show up to the interview in proper attire, that shows me you most likely won't put the time and effort in later either.
    "This thread is being closed as it is off-topic and not related to the fire industry." - Isn't that what the Off Duty forum was for?

Forum Member

I'm no expert either...but I say get the suit. I don't wear a suit to work at my current job...but I do get use out of having one (weddings, funerals, etc.).

Forum Member

You can get a suit for very little if you look around. Invest in your future. If you show up in your class A, they will think that is where you want to stay.
    Jason Brooks
    IAFF Local 2388
    IACOJ

Don't take this the wrong way, but obviously you don't want their job bad enough. Seriously, are you testing on a whim or do you want their job? Because IMO all you're saying to them is, "Look at me! I've already got a job and your position is not important enough for me to show up in proper business attire."

Are you testing anywhere else? A suit will be needed if you are going to any other interviews. Remember, they don't necessarily care where you are coming from. They want to know; will you be humble enough to blend in and not be that guy to always be saying, "Well back at Useta Department..." I think wearing your current Class A's says to them you're gonna be that guy.

I say get the suit. Let us know.

Hang tough,
    bam
    Last edited by ffbam24; 10-04-2007 at 04:22 PM.