Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Written Test Attire?

I am fairly new at the whole testing process. I have been a volly. for 5 years now and decided this was the career for me. I have seen alot of remarks about what you should wear to an interview, but does it matter what you wear for a written test? Are T-shirt and pants cool? Or do you go for a more casual look? Or does it just not matter? I want to make the best first impression that I can. Any advice would be appreciated!

Forum Member

Default Written test attire

I try and dress up a little but, but still remain comfortable. Khakis and a nice polo or button up shirt.

The funniest stuff I see at tests are guys that show up in their full volunteer class-B uniforms, pagers and all. Its pretty sad actually.

It looks hot in there PureAdrenalin's Avatar

If it's a tiny test, dress up a bit. But if it's a huge test...just wear what your comfortable in. I wore a hoodie and cargo pants to the FDNY test..I saw guys wearing suits. I don't think it will make a difference where I'm ranked.
    'Adversus incendia excubias nocturnas vigilesque commentus est"

www.vententersearch.com

MembersZone Subscriber

Go casual...

Quote Originally Posted by powerhourcoug View Post
    I try and dress up a little but, but still remain comfortable. Khakis and a nice polo or button up shirt.
    That about nails it. Be comfortable but you never know who you might meet at the test center who might have input into your career later on. You don't want to show up looking like a schmuck.

If the getting the job is a priority for you then it's worth taking a little time and effort to dress professionally for every occasion where you have the opportunity to make a positive impression.

Good luck!
    "Nemo Plus Voluptatis Quam Nos Habant"

The Code is more what you'd call "guidelines" than actual rules.

MembersZone Subscriber