MembersZone Subscriber

Default Credit/Hiring question

I was curious if Fire Depts. look into your credit, as being a big factor in hiring someone? I'm still trying to establish my credit, but have fallen behind a bit.

Thanks!

Forum Member

Default Credit

I am by no means an expert, but from what I've been told in my pursuit is credit is a big factor in your consideration with not only the fire department, but many employers in general. I signed up with Experian and for $10/month I can check my credit whenever I want.

Forum Member

Default You bet!!

As an ex-background investigator let me say this...It is one of the major concerns when doing a background on an individual. If you are in a hole financially ,going into a position of Fire Fighter ,then your not going to pass your background. When preparing for a Fire Fighter position make sure your bills are paid and up to date. Sure everyone has debts but multiple bankruptcys and large debts are a sure red flag.
    Respectfully,
    Jay Dudley
    Retired Fire
    Background Investigator
    IACOJ-Member
    Lifetime Member CSFA
    IAFF Alumni Member

Forum Member

Default On that note - large debts

What about student loans? I paid for my own bachelor's, so I have about 18k in debt incurred for student loans. Would that be a concern? I have never been late on payments, have never been to collections, and besides that I only have about $1400 in outside CC debt (that I pay down to 0 about once a year). Credit is at or around 700.

MembersZone Subscriber

My poor credit (at the time) flat out cost me three jobs out west.

Forum Member

Default Your o.k.

phc....Like I've said....Everyone has bills to pay. It's those who declare bankruptcy multiple times and have bad debts who are the trouble.
    Respectfully,
    Jay Dudley
    Retired Fire
    Background Investigator
    IACOJ-Member
    Lifetime Member CSFA
    IAFF Alumni Member

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by JayDudley View Post