Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Management Issues

I am a full time firefighter, I also run on a volunteer department. Nothing more chaps my rear then voly fire persons thinking there big city fire fighters. I live in southern Maine, Boston is 59 miles away and New York is 269 miles away. I have the utmost respect for my brothers. But when members of my voly dept. feel that they can alter their gear, try to talk the talk, roast the leathers helmets with a pike pole in a fire and talk like they have seen the biggest fires the world has to offer and they have never been to a fire bigger then a 2 Ĺ story home more than 3 of 4 times in 8 years.

One voly talks like a Jake from NY and is trying to change the terminology of NFPA FF-1 & 2 to big city life nozzle = pipe, tools = irons and so on. This man has no Certs for training other then shipboard firefighting for the merchant marines. And if you know shipboard firefighting itís not the same as land based fires.

My management issue is this. I took a 8 month leave of absence due to a motorcycle accident not bad just needed time to heal and other B.S. issues within the dept. 2 other members of my full time department are on this voly dept. as well, and I would get the day to day skinny so I knew what was going on. This Oct 2007 the Capt. Of my station (the want to be New York Jake) informs me from the chief that I am no longer a LT, gives no reason. When I went to talk to the chief he advised me that yes, I was not a LT any more due to I could not know what was going on within the dept. not training wise but operation wise.