Forum Member

Default Beginning Investigator

I know this is a much talked-about topic, but I am in need of some input. I have been a firefighter (part-time) for five years next June. I realized about six months ago I wanted to pursue any opportunities I could find to become a fire investigator. I talked to a couple friends of mine (one is an investigator for a private company and another is our county investigator) and both of them said to start at the fire academy. I just finished Fire Investigator-1033 (IFSAC) and now I'm wondering with my limited experience, even though I am in a position of responsibility as an investigator with my department, am I qualified enough to even apply for the NAFI certification?

MembersZone Subscriber

You are no where near qualified to apply for IAAI certification. You may be qualified to apply for NAFI certification. Their qualifications are listed on their web page.

You need more education and way more experience. Do these two things:

1. Go to www.cfitrainer.net and register. It is free. Take all the classes. They are free.

2. Talk to your friend the county fire investigator and try to work yourself in as an unpaid intern or part-time investigator. This will help you get some experience.
    PROUD, HONORED AND HUMBLED RECIPIENT OF THE PURPLE HYDRANT AWARD - 10/2007.

Forum Member

Yeah the IAAI is a pipe dream at this point. That's why I didn't even ask about it. NAFI, on the other hand, might be doable with a little more experience. I just need some input from some people about the critical qualifications for application for the NAFI exam. I'm looking for bare minimums.

Forum Member

SundayMoney,