Forum Member

Default How many of you are armed?

I'm a retired Federal Agent, 5 years a volly FF, just getting into arson investigations. Years ago I investigated a case where our uniformed branch shot and killed a guy who fired a shot at one of them. Turned out, he was wanted for the murder of a Sheriff's Deputy and an arson investigator who were interviewing him about an arson.

I realize most of us are FF, but that case makes me want to suggest caution when talking, even casually at the fire scene, to a potential suspect. Even if origin and cause have not be established, the suspect may think you are on to him/her.

How many of us are armed on the job?

MembersZone Subscriber

Armed or not, anyone involved in close contact with the less stellar in our society should have rudimentary street survival skills. There are so many things to be aware of, from where you are standing in relation to the subject to situational awareness of the subject's demeanor to how you have positioned yourself. That clipboard or flashlight you have in your hand can be used as a defense weapon if you know what you are doing.

IMHO, one of the most dangerous situations to be in is in the role of EMS. Close contact in close quarters. Often emotional scenes where a plethora of potential weapons could exist.

I am an avid advocate of body armor.

Armed doesn't always mean protected against assault.
    PROUD, HONORED AND HUMBLED RECIPIENT OF THE PURPLE HYDRANT AWARD - 10/2007.

MembersZone Subscriber

All of L.A. County Fire Arson Investgators are armed. It is a promoted rank of Firefighter specalist.
    Slop sink, Flags and pump 150
    Getting there is half the fun

Forum Member

Paddiegrunt, do you have your own firearms instructors, or does the PD or SO take care of it??

MembersZone Subscriber

Sheriffs, they have to qualify every 6 months on the gun range
    Slop sink, Flags and pump 150
    Getting there is half the fun

Forum Member