Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Question Lots of Questions!

Hey! I am new to FF and don't really know what to do. I am 16 years old and a Junior in high school, I have always thought I would go to college. I have always had an interest in being a firefighter since I was a kid. Recently, I decided that being a firefighter is what I would like to do as an occupation. But I have lots of questions.

1. What college degree should I get for being a FF?
    2. Should I also think about being a Paramedic?
    3. What colleges are recommended for FF's?
    4. What is a Fire Explorer?
    5. What do FDs look for in new recruits?
    6. What can I do at my age, to prepare for being a FF/Paramedic?

These are just some questions that I thought up of, But if anyone could help me answer these questions I would like to say thanks right now. Also, if anyone has additional information concerning the subject please feel free to give me any and all direction and advice (please).

Thanks!

Forum Member

[QUOTE=CrazyFF16;889333]

QUOTE]

1. Fire science or a business management
    2.yes
    3. anything that offers an EMT program and/or fire science
    4. never was one
    5. hard working, honest, motivated
    6. bust *** in school, cardio, basic work out plan, i.e. push ups, pulls ups, dips, sit ups and lunges (to help with stairs)

Well, become a fire cadet.. your old enough. You will get an idea of what they do. You get in full gera and go to the scenes but you do not go in the building.. usually you will get a pager.

You will need to go to the Fire Fighetr Academy. Degrees will help you. Like being a pump operater.

Being a paramedic is up to you. Its usually one or the other, you can be a CFR (Certified First Responder) to render emdical aid. Its all up to how far you will go to save a life.
    Service Through Courage

NEVER FORGET 9/11/01

Forum Member

Last edited by charlie82; 12-15-2007 at 02:46 AM.

Forum Member