Thread: I need Help!!

Forum Member

Default I need Help!!

Hey all...I need peoples opinion who can help me with a little information. I have my associates in fire science, and Im also a EMT-B. Im thinking of enlisting into the Navy hoping that when I get out to help in my process in becoming a career firefighter. With my associates can that help me get a job in the navy for example like damage control alot easier? or help me get a job in the navy that deals with firefighting alot easier?

Forum Member

Why do you want navy? Go Air Force bro. Everyone in the navy is trained for damage control. Air force is more like civilian.

Worldwide Menace

Quote Originally Posted by hornedfrog2000 View Post
    Why do you want navy? Go Air Force bro. Everyone in the navy is trained for damage control. Air force is more like civilian.
    You're really not in any position to answer these questions as you're not even in the military.

Quote Originally Posted by stearns83
    Hey all...I need peoples opinion who can help me with a little information. I have my associates in fire science, and Im also a EMT-B. Im thinking of enlisting into the Navy hoping that when I get out to help in my process in becoming a career firefighter. With my associates can that help me get a job in the navy for example like damage control alot easier? or help me get a job in the navy that deals with firefighting alot easier?
    short answer.. no. the only thing your associates will help you with is advancing rank. In the Navy there is no true "Firefighter" job... as everyone is a firefighter somehow. there is "Damange Controlman (DC)" which takes care of everything from welding to metalwork to taking care of the ship by training everyone else in proper damage control techniques to save the ship and running damage control lockers.