Default Nozzle techniques

Hi all,
    I am a UK Firefighter based in the West Midlands (Birmingham) area. I am a Fire Behavior Training Instructor and am currently undertaking a review of training with regards to nozzle techniques, flow-rates and the use of tactical ventilation at large fires.
    Our 'usual' form of attack when it comes to applying water is to use high-pressure hose reels (booster lines) delivering approx 100 lpm, great for run-of-the-mill domestic house fires, but somewhat inadequate at larger fires. Our primary nozzle techniques are the use of in-direct water fog applied via a 35-60 degree cone pattern, dependent on conditions, direct application of water to the base of the fire (both methods are again ideally suited to smaller, domestic type fires), or simply to drench the fire by the use of main jets (45mm or 70mm hose lines), which tends to be the chosen attack for commercial/industrial fires.
    My area of research is to look at tactical firefighting techniques within large, high ceiling compartments. The application of water fog is not always suitable for these types of premises due to the lack of projection of water in to the fire gases. Our use of tactical ventilation is also still what I would consider to be in its infancy (purely my personal opinion). There is an inherent fear of inducing backdrafts or increasing the ferocity of the fire. My opinion is that (although not in all cases), there is nothing but advantages to be gained for firefighting by exhausting as much hot, unburnt fire gases out of the building as possible - the benefits far outway the slim chances of worsening the fire, providing that firefighters are able to recognize the signs of fire development presented to them.
    I would appreciate any views that you would like to share regarding the use of smooth bore jets within fire compartments and the use of tactical ventilation and PPV at US incidents.

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Solid Streams and PPV