MembersZone Subscriber

Question Your Hardest Part of Recruit School?

For all of you career firefighters: I will begin recruit school in February and wanted to try and get a jump on some of the more difficult topics to grasp.

I have zero fire experience at this point and would at least like to have a chance to research some of the more trying sections of recruit school.

So...if you can remember back...what was the most difficult portion of your recruit school/drill school/ academy?

MembersZone Subscriber

Everyone is different. Some recruits excel academically but have difficulty with physical tasks, others can lift heavy objects all day but struggle with classroom work. Only you know your strong and weak points. Make sure you are physically ready for the program, especially if there is a PT component to the program.

Good luck at the academy: suck up information like a sponge, do more than the minimum, learn from your mistakes.
    -------------------
    "The most mediocre man or woman can suddenly seem dynamic, forceful, and decisive if he or she is mean enough." from "Crazy Bosses"
    -----------------------------------------------
    Genius has its limits, but stupidity is boundless.

Forum Member

I went through Connecticut's Fire Academy about a year ago. The hardest part for me wasn't the physical or mental challenges, but just the fact that you're life basically shuts down for the durration of the academy. The live in requirement seriously put a strain on my relationships with my friends and family.

Besides that, I didn't really have many problems... the PT program was designed to improve everyone rather than make everyone fitness monsters and there is plenty of time to study and prepare for the academic parts.

Forum Member