MembersZone Subscriber

Default Why Mass Is Restricting Ion Alarms

I am the Chief Fleming (Boston Fire) referred to in the original article. I have been resaerching this issue since 1990 and publishing papers since 1998. I have been sending e-mails out to Fire Marshal's after fatal fires for several years now. One of them was sent to Vermont after the Barre Fire.

Recently, due to my proposals, the Massachsuetts Building and Fire Code Boards approved the following language:

32.02: Definitions

Approved monitored battery power smoke detector, shall consist of a working device, as defined in M.GL.c148, s. 26D. However such device shall not include a device that employs ionization technology as the sole means of smoke detection.

Approved primary power smoke detector, shall consist of a working device, as defined in M.GL.c148, s. 26D. However such device shall not include a device that employs ionization technology as the sole means of smoke detection.

32.03 Installation of Smoke Detectors In the Vicinity of a Kitchen or Bathroom.
    No smoke detector employing ionization technology shall be installed within 20 feet of an entryway to a kitchen, or a bathroom containing a bathtub or shower. The 20 foot measurement shall include and extend into common areas of a multi-family dwelling, if applicable.

Some of my research that supported this change can be found at http://www.bostonfirelocal718.org/index.htm.

Now I would like to respond to a couple of comments.

Jay Fleming's comment on the NIST Report - NIST found that in many smoldering fires the ion alarm responded too late. (They just never mentioned this in any of their press releases.) In addition, NIST did not use real smoke alarms. they "modified" the alarms and measured their response based on the changes in voltage/current. In the smoldering fires the real photos responded 30 minutes before real ions. In flaming fires real ions were faster than real photos by 30-50 econds.