Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Unhappy What's the status.....?

What is the "status" of your department, paid, volunteer or combination? I couldn't think of any other forum to post this in, so here it is. It seems we're always hearing of cut backs these days and I'm curious as to the health of other departments around the country.

I live in Mercer County, PA and am a member of an all volunteer department. We seem to always have enough members show on calls to man all apparatus and efficiently do the job. Recruiting is another story though. I am also a former Air Force firefighter, our department status was good then, and I hear it still is. However, there are a couple small paid departments in my area that usually only have 2 man crews to cover their entire city. In the 80s and 90s these small paid departments in my area had all apparatus fully manned. What happened? I'm also constantly hearing of the city of Pittsburgh and PBF battling over cut backs with man power and station closings. And recently, many towns in MA responding with ONLY 1 firefighter.

So let us all know, where ever you're from.

Thanks

MembersZone Subscriber